Questions to ask yourself when you feel upset or angry with someone

Do you find yourself getting upset or angry with someone? A supplier? A co-worker? A family member? I know I do! Listening to Tony Robbins “Live With Passion” he outlined 7 questions to ask yourself when this happens.

  1. Am I willing to learn something? Am I willing to do something to make this better?
    – Will making this person wrong make them want to help me?
  2. What is it that is really upsetting me in this situation? What is the specific meaning I link to this?
  3. Could this be a mis-perception or misinterpretation on my part?
    – Do I have all the information needed to be absolutely sure what this means?
  4. What else could this mean?
    – How could I get new, more empowering meanings?
  5. What do I need, in order to feel good now?
    i. Do I need to change my perception?
    ii. Do I need to find out more information?
    iii. Do I need to understand the other person’s viewpoint or why they did this?
    iv. Do I need to know this person cares (for me)?
    v. Do I need to get commitment from this person?
    vi. Do I need to change the way we are doing something?
    vii. Do I need to apologize?
    viii. Do I need to remember who this person is?
  6. How can I communicate my needs in a way that empowers my relationship with this person?
    – “I need your help…”
  7. What is good about this?
About Andrew Stewart

Andrew Stewart exists to serve by igniting potential. Husband. Dad. Leader. Cyclist. Friend.
This entry was posted in Responsibility, Success. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Questions to ask yourself when you feel upset or angry with someone

  1. acne says:

    You should participate in a contest for among the best blogs on the web. I’ll suggest this site!

Leave a Reply

