The best opening line for a sales presentation

I saw this posted on Facebook yesterday by Ace of Sales. They suggested that the best opening line for a sales presentation or meeting is:

I brought an idea with me

What a great way to open up with a customer! It is almost certainly unexpected and will differentiate you from all the other sales people.

It is likely to reframe your customer’s thoughts away from “how can I get rid of this sales person quickly and humanely” to “I wonder what is in it (the idea) for me”.

Try it and let me know how it works. It has got to be better than the usual “we’ve been in business for 176 years and….snore, yawn, puke”!

I have just started to read The Challenger Sale: Taking Control of the Customer Conversation  (Matthew Dixon and Brent Adamson) so I will continue to revise my thoughts on this as I go on. This book is excellent and is changing some of my thoughts on how to be an effective sales person.

About Andrew Stewart

Andrew Stewart exists to serve by igniting potential. Husband. Dad. Leader. Cyclist. Friend.
This entry was posted in Sales, Service, Success and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The best opening line for a sales presentation

  1. Johnc397 says:

    Great article post.Really thank you! Fantastic. eeekeeedgkge

Leave a Reply

