My Three Words for 2014

Inspired by a blog post last New Year by Chris Brogan, I have chosen three words that I will focus on during 2014. They are

  1. Plan;
  2. Discipline;
  3. Execution.

Plan

The old saying goes, that if you fail to plan, you plan to fail. I have been guilty of winging it in meetings in 2013. I know that I did my best work on those occasions when I did properly plan my day. For that reason, I intend to put a focus on planning this year. As we head to the start of the new year, I am spending some time on clarifying my goals and setting annual, quarterly and then some monthly goals and plans to achieve my BHAGs.

Discipline

There are two types of pain: the pain of discipline or the pain of regret. Jim Rohn always told us that the pain of regret is far worse than the pain of discipline. Allied to my first word (plan) for 2014, I want to make sure that I focus on applying the right disciplines this year, so I do not look back in regret. That discipline will be in many areas of my life: eating the right food; working out when I would rather slump on the sofa; paying myself first and saving, rather than spending. In my professional life the discipline will be spending time to plan, to review my day, to perform my weekly review and to write in my journal.

Execution

The third word is about making things happen; getting things done. Never leave the scene of a good idea without taking action. I will eat the biggest and ugliest frog first.

Last Year’s Words

My three words for 2013 were

Focus
Audacity
Lid

What are your words for 2014? Let me know.

About Andrew Stewart

Andrew Stewart exists to serve by igniting potential. Husband. Dad. Leader. Cyclist. Friend.
This entry was posted in Goals, Success and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Three Words for 2014

  1. Pete Evans says:

    Andrew. This is a simple but highly effective blog posting. I will be finalising my words tomorrow and look forward to sharing them with you later in the week. This posting will add immense value to others who read it.

  2. My words are Harvest, Give, Plant as 2014 is my year of harvesting all that I have planted. Once I harvest, it is time to give back and then plant again!

  3. Pingback: My Three Words for 2015 | Andrew Stewart's Blog

Leave a Reply

